You are currently browsing the daily archive for 08/02/2009.

This proved to be a little more difficult than I had anticipated but it’s working fine now. Here’s what I did. First though, I found that I had to remove the existing Google-earth package although I’m not sure if this was totally necessary:

1. Download GoogleEarthLinux from here

2. Make this bin file executable with (from the download directory)

chmod a+x GoogleEarthLinux.bin

3. Run the installer with

sudo ./GoogleEarthLinux.bin

4. This should go to completion without problems but it still won’t launch without crashing. So to fix this, cd to the install directory (/opt/google-earth) and

sudo mv libcrypto.so.0.9.8 libcrypto.so.0.9.8.old

See this thread for more details.

5. Now it should start fine (launch it from a terminal with “googleearth”. However, for Google-earth to run well, I found I had to make sure everything else (browser, AWN) was shutdown.

What’s that picture?

This is part of a painting called The Hunters by dutch painter Pieter Bruegel from about 1560. I love this guy's work and those of his other family members. They provide a real opportunity to go back in time and participate in life 500 years ago in north-western Europe.

RSS Delicious Hotlist

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Statcounter

custom counter

Calender

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Pages